Management Team

John Hunter (President/Majority Owner)

John Hunter began his career in the electrical industry working summers on jobsites during high school and college. John graduated with a BA degree in Architecture from the University of California, Berkeley in 1982 and went to work for a Bay Area electrical contractor as a draftsman, ultimately working his way up to project manager. John came to Del Monte Electric in 1993 as a branch manager and purchased the company in 2000. The company experienced rapid growth in the early 2000′s and has weathered the recent economic downturn quite well. John sold a minority interest in the company to Scott Mullins in 2014. John and his management team take great pride in their ability to foresee future market opportunities and prepare the company to participate in these growing markets. The company has enjoyed success during the rapid market increases in education, healthcare, and commercial solar installations. John also participates in the electrical industry as follows:

  • Labor/Management Coop Committee, NECA- Chairman
  • Negotiating Committee, NECA- Chairman
  • Management Services Committee, NECA- Past Chairman
  • IBEW Pension Trust- Past Trustee

Scott Mullins (Vice President/Minority Owner)

Scott Mullins joined the Del Monte Electric Team in 2000 as an estimator and project manager. Scott completed his IBEW Electrician’s apprenticeship in 1991 and has over 25 years experience in the electrical industry as an electrician, foreman, general foreman, project manager, estimator, branch manager, safety manager, and vice president. Scott oversees the daily activities of the company as vice president and minority shareholder. Scott has extensive experience in health care, photo-voltaic, and educational projects and is able to use his field experience to identify and solve problems before they impact the project schedule or budget. Scott was a past chairman of the NECA Codes and Standards Committee and received the Seraphin Electrical Code Award for many years of service to the NECA Codes and Standards Committee, the East Bay Uniform Code Committee, and the Code Advisory Committee.